Welcome!

While watching television is generally regarded to be a solitary activity, it sure is a lot more fun when you have someone to discuss it with!  That’s what this blog is all about.   We’d love to learn about you and your favorite shows, and since it’s only fair–we’ll go first.

Meet Daphne:

Did you know that I’m involved in a deep, torrid love affair … with television? LOL

Episodic TV has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. As a tot, I cut my teeth on cartoons like Legend of Zelda and Peter Pan and the Pirates (boy am I dating myself here or what?) and eventually graduated to gorging myself on Saved by the Bell re-runs and then daytime television shows like The Young and the Restless. I watched primetime shows too back in the day but none really affected me or spoke to me, until I first saw an episode of Buffy, the Vampire Slayer in 1998. From that point, I became a devout primetime watcher.

When invariably someone asks me would I rather watch a TV show or a movie, I always answer “TV show”. I love that with television, you get to see a character evolve – or deteriorate, in some cases – over the course of several years. You bond with them in many ways. They become a part of your life. I love characters – seeing what makes them tick, what drives them, breaks them, haunts them, etc. Maybe it’s the former psych major in me?! Hmm… I do know for a fact though that I have always enjoyed a good story. If the story and the characters are compelling enough, I don’t want them to leave me! I want them to keep going and going like the Energizer bunny.

Sadly, we do live in an era where shows debut and are cancelled after two episodes, but that has not and will not deter me from continuing to seek out shows (and characters! And couples!) I can fall in love with. Currently I am hooked on The Vampire Diaries, Mistresses, Once Upon a Time, Grey’s Anatomy and the best show you’ve never heard of, Luther (which stars the oh-so-yummy Idris Elba!).

Upcoming shows I can’t wait to see are: Sleepy Hollow, Betrayal, The Michael J. Fox Show, The Originals and The Blacklist.

Meet Lynn:

I am an admitted tv junkie.  As an only child, tv has always been a bit of a companion for me.  Sure I had, and continue to have, other interests (Growing up in the rural South, you’ve got to find ways to enterain yourself), but tv is different.  Few things in life allow to escape your reality in a healthy way.  In fact, television and reading are the only two I can think of.  I happen to love both.

My television interests are varied. I enjoy soapy primetime sagas like Revenge as well as witty sitcoms like The Big Bang Theory.  I like to be entertained, but I want to be treated like an intelligent viewer.  Lazy plot twists, sloppy dialouge, and poory storyline decisions annoy me.  That makes me want to rant.

Brutal honesty, snarky comments, ranting, and raving can all be expected when reading my reviews, but I will always try to be fair.  I have a tremendous respect for actors and, even though I may not always commend a performance, I am careful not to bash.  Actors are people too…very rich, very pretty people.
Shows I love:  Revenge, Bates Motel, The Big Bang Theory, The Middle, The Mentalist, Shark Tank, The Neighbors

Shows I’m Looking Forward To:  Betrayal, The Blacklist, Welcome to the Family, Trophy Wife, Resurrection, Hostages, The Tomorrow People

So…there you have it.  Now that you know about us, please tell us something about you!  We’d love to hear your comments and suggestions.  Feel free to drop by and tell us what your favorite shows are and what shows have you counting down the days until their debuts.  Hope to see you here soon!

Leave a Reply

