Give it up for The Goldbergs!

The cast of The Goldbergs

The cast of The Goldbergs

 

Give it Up for The Goldbergs!

 

I will make an admission right now. I decided to watch the first episode of The Goldbergs, mostly out of boredom. Going into it, I didn’t have high expectations or hopes for it, and maybe that is part of the reason I enjoyed it so much! Or, maybe it’s because it’s actually a really good show! Surprise, surprise! The Goldbergs is actually a highly watchable show.

 

First of all, the cast is really good. They all play their parts convincingly, especially Wendi McLendon-Covey! Which surprises me because I am used to her playing these (forgive me for typing this!) “dumb blonde”-type roles with little substance. But she hits it out of the park as Beverly Goldberg, a mother who is struggling with the fact that her children are growing up so fast, right before her eyes, and she doesn’t know what to do with herself… Truthfully, I wouldn’t be surprised that if this show lasts, Wendi snags herself an Emmy nod next year.

 

Another cast member I have to single out is George Segal, who plays Albert Solomon. I have always liked this actor since I first saw him on the awesome, much-missed sitcom Just Shoot Me but he’s a whole ‘nother level of amazing here. He plays his part really well and imbues it with a lot of heart and wit. I would love to have a grandpa like him! (Especially if he gave me a sports car!)

 

The rest of the cast is good too. I just need to see their characters developed a bit more, especially Erica’s role. She remains a blank slate for this viewer, thus far.

 

I liked the show because of the writing too. It was genuinely funny and very relatable. (I do appreciate that there is no laugh track. I have always hated those so much!) Lines like “Flava Flav is the only one who understands me!” seriously made me laugh almost until I cried. Then there were scenes like Murray giving his son an REO Speedwagon cassette instead of a car that were just as classic. And they felt authentic. How many sixteen year olds have hoped for a car and instead gotten something entirely less exciting like a tape (or CD) or hmm, a package of underwear?! I know I have! This show is relatable, even with it being set decades ago. That’s what I like most about it. (The 80’s were but a decade long, but family dysfunction is forever.)

 

The show reminds me of a John Hughes movie and I miss John Hughes movies very much. I think I will be sticking with it for the long haul. It’s comfortable and homey – like shoulder pads, leg warmers and parachute pants! (Yes, that was a sad 80’s fashion reference lol)

 

Check out the first episode of The Goldbergs (“Circle of Driving”). You might be surprised and actually like it!

3 thoughts on “Give it up for The Goldbergs!

Leave a Reply

